Be Brave

Happy Weekend and Happy March! That means spring has to be on its way, right?! I hope that everyone is enjoying their Saturday morning so far! If you ask me, few things are better than waking up at your own leisure on the weekend. It’s the little things in life 🙂 Of course, I still woke up at 5 AM, but I digress…
20140301-062529.jpg
I wasn’t planning on blogging today but I have had a topic weighing on my mind for a while now and since Dan isn’t awake yet to listen to all my thoughts, I might as well share them here! Last week, I was getting my daily dose of celebrity gossip and came across an article on Chrissy Teigen’s new haircut. Yes, I know you are all impressed by the educational value of the articles I read. The bottom of the article prompted readers to give their opinion on her new hairstyle.

20140301-055805.jpg
I am not kidding you when I say that my mouth dropped open while I read the comments. I don’t know what it is about being able to anonymously share whatever mean (and that’s an understatement) thoughts that come to mind, but I was seriously appalled. I’ve never understood bullying and cyber bullying has become an extreme to that in many ways.

20140301-060731.jpg
Something has to change. In The Gifts of Imperfection, Brené Brown writes that “cruelty is never brave – it’s mostly cheap and easy, especially in today’s culture.” Be brave.

20140301-062340.jpg

4 thoughts on “Be Brave

  1. I’m not sure what I like more…the fact that Taylor Swift made this post or Ellen. Love them both. And as always, the message you wrote is spot on! One of my biggest fears is that Atlas (and any future kids) will grow up in a world where bullying has taken on a whole new ‘face’ because people (*ahem* cowards) do it and hide behind a computer. I hope and pray that my boy not only isn’t impacted by cyber bullying but he’s brave enough to speak kindness into people’s lives – especially those who need it most!

    Hope you and your cute fam have a great weekend! Soak up that Texas sunshine for meeee!

    • I love Ellen and Taylor too! I am excited to see Ellen host the Oscars. We’ll see how late I am able to stay awake, haha 🙂

      I totally understand your fear of Atlas growing up in a time that bullying is so prevalent. I am sure that with the way you are raising him, he will be incredibly compassionate and stand up for what is right!

  2. My dad recently shared an article with me about how online commenting brings out people’s true character. It’s absolutely insane what people will say when they believe they’re being anonymous! This is an awesome reminder to be nice and not worry so much about what everyone else is doing with their lives – haircuts, food, anything – it’s their life and honestly none of our business.

Leave a Reply

