What Makes Us Real

Life is messy. That’s how we’re made. – Meredith Grey
 
As a kid, my bedroom was its own kind of natural disaster. My bed was consistently unmade and clothes, both clean and dirty, sprawled out across my floor. Whenever I had friends coming over, my mom would order me to clean my room before they arrived. And being the perfect child that I was, I would gather heaps of the mess and stuff them into any hiding place available; underneath the bed, in the corners of the closet, you name it, I found it. Of course, the second I opened my closet, an American Girl doll, a Chicago Bulls windbreaker, a soccer ball, colored pencils, and a melted Hershey’s chocolate bar would empty out first on my face, and then, onto the floor. So, get to the point, right? Well, I feel like that old messy childhood bedroom of mine is a lot like life.

If you’re anything like me, all too obsessed with E! News and People Magazine, you’re stunned when certain Hollywood couples announce that they are splitting. Nick Lachey and Jessica Simpson? Still breaking my heart. I honestly think that the biggest surprise comes in that they seemed so perfect. From the outside looking in, they had it all. And the second they break up, there comes a realization that their shit stinks too.
ImageAnd such is life. Here’s the thing, we want it all and often times, it seems like everyone else has achieved that. The perfect career, marriage, body, home, balance. They haven’t. No one has. The truth is, everyone is struggling in some way. And those struggles and imperfections are what make us human; amazing, beautiful. relatable, and real.

Image

16 thoughts on “What Makes Us Real

  1. What a great post! I’ve been meditating & praying over this exact same thing for the past 2 weeks. We tend to think, “oh, once I get married life will be great.” Or “I wish I was in the same place as ____ – they have it all. The kids. The job. The house. Etc.” & the reality is that we are all going through the seasons of life & every single season has it’s own unique struggles…no matter how it looks from the outside.

    I’ve missed your blog! So glad you posted today. 🙂

    • Thanks, Ashley! I completely agree with what you said. It is so natural to think that others have it all figured out when really we are all working to deal with whatever is going on during each phase of life. And speaking of phases of life, it looks like you are an amazing mom! I love seeing the pictures of Atlas, you, Dave, and the dogs! You have had so many incredible changes in your life over the past year and you have handled them all so gracefully 🙂

  2. Pingback: No Right, No Wrong | The Run Within

  3. Ain’t that the truth. We all have shitty things we’re going through, in varying degrees and at varying times. It’s easy to either romanticize other peoples’ lives, but also important to remember that everybody is going through something.

    Wonderful post!

  4. I love this– I have to embrace the mess sometimes and I love people who keep it real and aren’t afraid to admit when they’re down instead of painting a pretty picture. (But, don’t get me wrong, I totally understand when we need to put on a layer of lipstick and pretend it’s okay!)

Leave a Reply

