Lessons From My Brother

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” ~ Steve Jobs

God gained another angel on July 4, 2004. That’s the day that my big brother “came to know God’s love and mercy firsthand and in a place we can only dream” as my sister so eloquently put it. While I don’t usually talk about it, much less write about it, I have been thinking about my brother a lot lately. Specifically, I’ve been thinking about the lessons he taught me in his 24 years on this Earth. And to tell you the truth, those lessons are just too damn good not to share.

20130702-193848.jpg
People come first. My brother lived in a way in which he valued relationships and experiences over materialistic items. His life was not focused on acquiring more, it was centered on his family and friends.

20130702-193926.jpg
Give without expectation. Jason didn’t do things for others based on what they could offer in return. He gave because it was the right thing to do.

20130702-194017.jpg
Live every day. My brother truly experienced life to the fullest.

20130702-194049.jpg
Jason was passionate about life. He allowed others to see the good in the world through his sense of humor, his compassion, his love, and his enthusiasm. I am proud to be his sister. He left this world a better place. And if you ask me, that is the real definition of success.

20130702-194116.jpg

In Heaven there is no beer. That’s why we drink it here.

14 thoughts on “Lessons From My Brother

  1. Perfect. Well said:). He’d love what you wrote, what you learned from his life, and that pic. He really was an example. Love you

  2. Dearest Kaitlyn, I think about your brother and your family often. I was brought to tears by your post and will always hold each of you forever dear in my heart. Your Second Grade teacher

  3. Pingback: Life on a Budget | quartercenturysouthernliving

Leave a Reply

