Mama’s Manicotti

Hello and Happy Saturday! I am currently sitting in my robe, comfy on the couch, soaking up this long weekend! I wanted to quickly check in and share a recipe. I hope y’all enjoy!

On evening’s that Dan is scheduled to work late, I often have a bowl of cereal for dinner. Or, if I am feeling fancy, I will make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I am all about the quick preparation and easy clean up. I fully intended to have this simple meal many nights this week and was pleasantly surprised when Dan texted me mid-week to let me know that he would be home by 7:30. Forget Frosted Mini Wheats. I decided to hurry to the store and pick up the ingredients for one of my all-time favorite meals, manicotti!

My mom is a pro at making manicotti and I have helped her prepare the dish many a times. Making it on my own was a different story. Let’s just say that I am glad she kept her phone handy as I called her 4 times throughout the process. The shells aren’t cooked. They will cook in the oven. Right? Right! The spinach is frozen. Should I cook it in the microwave? No, I will just run water on it and it will defrost. Right? Right!

20130525-073408.jpg
Miraculously, I successfully prepared the meal, included a side of garlic bread, and even a pan of brownies for dessert. If you have an hour to spare, I promise this dish is worth the time in the kitchen! Here is what you will need

1 (15 ounce) container ricotta cheese
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1 egg
2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 (26 ounce) jars spaghetti sauce
1 (8 ounce) package manicotti shells

20130525-073649.jpg
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
In a large bowl, combine ricotta, spinach, egg, parsley, pepper, garlic powder, 1 cup mozzarella, and 1/4 cup Parmesan.
Spread 1 cup sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Stuff uncooked manicotti shells with cheese and spinach mixture, and arrange in a single layer in the dish. Cover with remaining sauce. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan.
Bake in preheated oven for 50 minutes, or until noodles are soft.

Reader Question – What is your signature dish?

18 thoughts on “Mama’s Manicotti

  1. Welp. You made basically my favorite meal. I will eat any cheese baked Italian dish in large quantities. Garlic bread is my favorite part of a meal though. And you can’t go wrong with a pan of brownies. Dan is a lucky guy 😉

  2. SO yummy looking! I love love love mannicotti or stuffed shells. I have to remind myself to make some of this soon! mmmm!

  3. I’ve actually never had manicotti but this looks delicious! My signature dish, would probably be my lasagna or breakfast casserole!

  4. I am so glad that I’m not the only one who tries to recreate my moms amazing cooking and ends up calling her every 4 seconds in the process… Hahah I laughed out loud because you sound just like me!

    And this meal looks absolutely amazing!! Definitely need to try making a gluten free version!

  5. I’m a huge fan of manicotti, especially if you can make it easily and not cook the shells beforehand. I never knew! I’m totally adding this to my recipe list, especially since it is the perfect comfort food and summer is seemingly escaping MPLS this season!

  6. Oh friend, this sounds delightful! You know I love pasta of all kinds and manicotti is definitely on that list, haha! I love that this is your mom’s recipe – some of my favorite recipes came from my mom and grandmother. 🙂

  7. Yum, looks delicious! I would say my signature dish is buffalo chicken burgers and grilled veggies or sweet potato veggie hash!

Leave a Reply

