Beach Weekend

The sun and the sand and a drink in my hand.

The beach is not only my happy place, it is my therapy. As we pulled into the resort yesterday, windows down, ‘Barefoot Blue Jean Night’ playing, and water in sight, I felt an authentic happiness, uninhibited by the world.

20130414-200043.jpg
After checking in, we walked to our favorite restaurant across the street. Dan grabbed the drink menu and we quickly found and ordered our cocktails. I happily decided on rum punch for the evening.

20130414-201236.jpg
I promised Dan that I would stay up late and was yawning by 8:00. Fail. We stayed at the pool bar for as long as I could keep my eyes open and called it a night. My grandma tendencies continued this morning as I woke to the sun rising.

20130414-202329.jpg
We headed out for a walk on the beach and checked out the gazebo where we will be getting married.

20130414-202712.jpg
Before making our way back to Houston, we had brunch at a restaurant overlooking the water. One Peach Bellini and an order of Rustic Cinnamon French Toast later, we were on our way home.

20130414-203613.jpg
After a weekend of cocktails and all things unhealthy, I am definitely ready to get back on track with my snacks and workouts.

20130414-204452.jpg
Reader Questions: What is your favorite place for a weekend getaway? What are your favorite snacks during the week?

24 thoughts on “Beach Weekend

  1. Beautiful pictures! I was up in the mountains this weekend so my scenery was pretty much the opposite of yours, but a weekend getaway is a weekend getaway and it does tonnes to refresh us, no? And it must have felt so special to see the spot that you’ll be getting married. Awwr โค

  2. I totally get where you’re coming from with the beach being your therapy. That’s what my boat in RI is for me. It’s also why I’ve quite literally been counting down the hours until the day I move back there. I’m glad you had such a great time! It looks absolutely gorgeous!

  3. Matt and I are currently planning a beach getaway where we got engaged. I can’t wait to order a frozen drink on the beach and day dream about our wedding ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. the sun and beach and weather look amazing girl! I cant wait to get away! My snacks today are greek yogurt with clementines and then some celery with peanut butter, an apple just incase im still hungry! I usually go for protein shakes or bars too ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the quest bars. I just ordered the chocolate chip cookie dough ones, yum!

  5. Yay beach! Those are the best types of weekend getaways! My favorite place to escape to on the weekends lately has been my grandmother’s house. Honestly, I think Mike likes it even more than I do though hahah.

  6. Oh, how gorgeous! The gazebo is beautiful, and it’ll be the perfect wedding location.

    The beach sounds absolutely fantastic — cocktails and palm trees sound like heaven right now. ๐Ÿ™‚ And hey, here’s to grandma tendencies!

  7. Gorgeous photos and a wonderful place for a wedding!! I have the same grandma tendencies as you. I always have to go to bed early but even if I go to bed late, I’m up at 5am with the sun ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck getting back to healthy eating, I know it is hard after a weekend away!

  8. ohhhh gosh i love rum punch! this place looks amazing for your wedding, so exciting! i love to go to poconos PA or jersey shore for a weekend getaway, or just go out to the hamptons and hit up all the winerys. AHH summer cant come soon enough

  9. Sounds like a wonderful time. I love the way you describe that feeling of true happiness! Perfect spot to get married =)
    I love weekends in Montauk, but only on the off season. It tends to get crowded and stuffy with rich city people that I can’t stand, but if you go before it’s actually summer, it’s so serene and empty…just you and the ocean!

Leave a Reply

