This Month

Will this matter a year from now? – Richard Carlson

20130331-070502.jpg
This is my monthly mantra, which I am sure will quickly become my weekly, daily, hourly, and every 5 minutes mantra as well. Because I sweat the small stuff, the emails I need to answer, the list I need to tackle, the calls I need to make, and the chores I need to finish. In doing so, I lose sight of the importance of enjoying the moment and focusing on what matters most.

If I am being honest, my commitment to not sweating the small stuff is in fact, making me sweat. Because I know how difficult it will be, to let go of things that don’t really matter in order to focus on the things that do.

Without going in to too much detail, Dan and I had quite the day yesterday, and it provided such perspective on what is really important in our lives.

20130401-085419.jpg
Reader Question: What helps you to focus on what really matters and to not sweat the small stuff?

31 thoughts on “This Month

  1. If you got a detention at my high school, you spent it writing “Don’t sweat the small stuff. It’s all small stuff.” Not sure it’s the best thing to try to get into the heads of people sitting in detention, but I always found it interesting. I think it’s a good mantra because it’s so easy to forget to do that.

  2. Whatever the situation you experienced, I hope you are ok! Sometimes things have to happen to put all the small stuff in perspective for us. It’s so tough, but it’s such an important thing to remember. I routinely have to remind myself to take a deep breath and stop stressing as much – it’s something I’ve always had trouble with. But like you said, then you start stressing over trying NOT to stress. We just need to tackle one thing at a time and just keep repeating that mantra, everyday before we get up if we have to. You’ll get there, girl!! Good luck 🙂

  3. I hope everything is okay! I also start sweating when I tell myself not to worry about the small stuff. “But it is all SO important!” “I need to care/worry about it!” It is best just to take a step back and breath and realize that everything will turn out okay.

  4. I really like the first quote. It’s so hard to see outside the moment though. One of the biggest things I’ve learned recently is to step outside of my own thoughts. If it’s an argument/disagreement with someone, I try and think to myself “Okay they aren’t saying these things just for the heck of it.” I really like going on walks too to help me stay centered. Just looking around in nature is a good way to relax and know it will all be fine 🙂

  5. Such a great thing to keep in mind…I definitely sweat the small stuff too and can easily get wrapped up in the tiny details of everyday. It’s so important to take a step back every now and then and look at the big picture. I love your way of looking at it too–will this matter a month from now? Great thing to keep in mind! I hope everything’s ok though with whatever went on yesterday!

  6. Ack! Those moments that make you realize these kind of things are never fun – hope that everything is okay, Kate! I still struggle when it comes to putting way too much focus on the small stuff, but it’s gotten a lot better as I’ve gotten older and realized that a lot of the small stuff doesn’t really matter at all. I still catch myself stressing every now and then, but I try to shift my focus to the small POSITIVE things that make a huge difference in my day rather than focusing on the negative ones.

  7. I always have to remind myself sometimes ‘will this matter a year or even 5 years from now’. Great quote and you are right sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the moment of something small and you have to bring yourself back down to earth.

    Hope all is ok regardless of how ‘small’ it was.

  8. It’s ridiculous how often we spend a great deal of time looking at one tree (usually not the nicest one either) and miss the beauty of the forest… I’m working on focusing on what matters most as well. And it’s hard. Because usually it’s easier to focus on all sorts of details instead! Trust God:)

  9. it’s hard not to sweat the small stuff. but the quote you started the post with is what i think of when i start focusing on trivial things. will this matter a month from now? a week? tomorrow? that’s how i know if it’s important and worth stressing about. great post!

  10. Love this mantra. Sometimes it’s so easy to get caught up in our everyday lives, and there comes moments where we let the littlest and most pointless things to get us. What’s the point though? If it’s not huge, why let it effect your way of life, or just simply that day.

  11. I can definitely relate to you. Sometimes, I think when I have a million small things to do, it stresses me out way more than if I had one big thing to get done. The the little things that add up to all my stress. It’s very hard to let go of it all at times, but remembering to focus on one thing at a time really helps me gain perspective.

Leave a Reply

