Paws in the Park 5k

Yesterday morning, Dan, Nola, and I headed out to our ‘Paws in the Park’ 5k. This was our first doggy dash, and I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t crazy excited for it. Dan and I had planned to run the race together, but once we arrived and I sized up the competition, I encouraged him to go ahead without me and to finish as quickly as possible.

Dan and Nola ended up placing 5th overall, insert proud fiancΓ© and mom line here. I was feeling great until mile 2.5, where I experienced a terrible side stitch. I managed to finish in 26 minutes and was happy with my time. I was even happier with the post race treats. Nola and I shared 2 Peanut Butter Clif Bars and would both offer rave reviews.

20130324-071001.jpg
Following the race, we watched the dogs jumping off the docks. Nola, being the social butterfly that she is, made lots of new friends.

20130324-071411.jpg
All in all, we had a fantastic time and I would definitely recommend a fun run with dogs. Although I shouldn’t admit it, my quads are especially sore today. Kudos to all you ladies training for and running your 1/2 marathons. I am definitely inspired to get into that kind of shape again.

Reader Questions: What is your favorite workout? Are you training for any races?

40 thoughts on “Paws in the Park 5k

  1. Guess I should read your blog to know why your legs hurt! Congrats to my favorite fiancΓ©-in-law and your little girl:). Glad you had such fun!

  2. what a fun race. i didn’t know they did things like this.
    favorite workout = running and boot camps.
    1/2 marathon coming up in april. a little nervous for that.

  3. This is such a fun race! Love it! My dog would drag me everywhere lol he gets way to excited over other people and dogs. I am doing a summer run series which is just 5ks and hopefully a half marathon in may but I don’t know how that’s going to work but we will see!

  4. Oh fun!! We did a 5k with Oreo, but walked the whole thing. It took us an HOUR and 12 minutes to finish, haha! Oreo was so busy smelling EVERYTHING and taking breaks to eat grass that it was a very slow walk for us. πŸ˜‰ But it was so much fun! Looks like you guys enjoyed your dog-friendly 5k too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

