A Letter To Me

My posts have been a bit all over the place lately, I realize. In fact, I tip my hat to you, or curtsy, if that’s more your style, for continuing to read my haphazard writing. My goal for today is to stick to a theme. But, I’m not making any promises. 

With my 26th birthday on the horizon, I can’t help but think how crazy it is that it has been 10 years since I turned 16 years old and felt so on top of the world backing out of my family’s driveway in my hand-me-down Mercury Tracer. A lot has happened in my life since then, and I would love to take a page out of Brad Paisley’s book, and write a letter to me and send it back in time to myself at…16. I would start by saying…

Image

It’s okay that you suck at algebra. You will be grateful that you struggled to pass and that you had to work hard. Not everything in life comes easy. 

Tell the people you love that you love them. Even though it seems like you will always have another chance to say how you feel, there are no guarantees in life.

Be present. Enjoy the pep rallies, football games, cross country meets, state soccer, and sleepovers.

Image

Realize how amazing your parents are. Stop worrying if your mom hears the guys in your grade cuss, or if your dad comes to grab a pop while you and your friends are watching a movie in the basement. Your parents will end up being the people you choose to spend your weekends with, believe it or not.

Image

Be you. It’s okay that you aren’t the prettiest, smartest, most popular, or most athletic girl. Be yourself and be okay with it.

Respect everyone. Don’t ever rank people or treat people a certain way according to what they wear, how much money they make, what they do, or where they live.

Image

 

Reader Question: What would you write in a letter to you at 16?

 

26 thoughts on “A Letter To Me

  1. i’m with you on all of those. especially about the parents. i was so horrible to them as a teen. now i LOVE spending all the time i can with them. they are my best friends besides my hubby. it’s amazing what you can learn with time and that last quote is one of my favs. along with “it’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.”

  2. “Your parents will end up being the people you choose to spend your weekends with, believe it or not.” <— Definitely! I never would have believed it when I was younger, but I absolutely love spending time with my parents and I try to see them any chance I get. And I really love the point about always telling the people you love that you love them, too 😀

  3. Don’t care so much what other people think. High school ends and things do get A LOT better after it. Don’t worry so much about time or things in general. Savour the nights when you can dance all night and recover in one day after 🙂

  4. Love this post. It’s so important to remember these things. I’ve found I’m the most thoughtful after spending time with my family. They’re constantly reminding me that I’ll never be the best at anything, but I can be good at a lot of things. It’s a hard lesson to learn.

  5. Love that your parents read and commented on this 🙂 This is such a great idea for a birthday – even if no one else reads it, just to think about what you’ve learned and what you’ve experienced in 10 years.

  6. What a lovely post! I agree with you on all these things, especially like the advice to love and respect your parents. I was fairly horrible to my parents when I was a teenager, but now I love every moment I spend with them. Good for you for writing this!

  7. I can totally relate to how you feel about your parents! I never thought I would end up as close to them as I am now! I am so annoyed with myself sometimes at how I acted when I was in high school! And now having a child I feel like karma is going to be getting me realll good haha

  8. This is great! It’s so hard for teenagers to really accept themselves because so much around them tells them that they aren’t good/smart/pretty/funny/etc enough. I try to emphasize this to the teens I work with, but it’s hard for them to grasp.

  9. I have always had a pretty good relationship with my mom but I remember so many friends in high school were so embarrassed by everything their parents did. My favorite weekends of the year are the ones I get to spend with family! I think its important to remember to be who you are, not who you think people what you to be. I didn’t realize this tell college.

  10. Love this, Kate! I think I’d tell myself to slow down and enjoy it more, like you said. I was so focused on getting into a good college and pushing myself that I think I forgot to enjoy just being a teen at times. But I really loved high school and I look back very fondly on that time in my life. And I know what you mean about your parents! I spend as much free time with them as possible these days. 🙂

  11. Love all of these. It’s crazy how fast time goes by. I feel like in the past year I’ve learned so much about myself. If I could go back in time, I would definitely stress how fast time goes by and tell myself not to wish it away!

  12. Great post Kate! That Brad Paisley song brings me to tears every time I hear it and try to sing along…the things I wish I could tell my 16 year-old self would look a lot like what’s on your list too. And not 5 minutes ago I just texted my mom to ask if she could go shopping this weekend…how things change, in the best of ways 🙂

  13. What a nice post. My sister and I were just talking abuot how we used to feel like we HAD to go out every weekend and be away from the house. Now I love nothing more than a quiet weekend at home with my family. It’s funny how things change, and how your parents, somehow knew all along!

  14. Love this! I agree with all of these. Esp the ranking people, I def did this in HS! Only when I hung out with a certain group of girls because it felt necessary, so ridic! Agree on the parents thing, I rather hang with them most nights! too funny

  15. I love your point about being present. Probably the best advice ever at that age as teenagers are always looking forward to the next step in life! I hope you have a wonderful birthday 🙂

  16. Pingback: A Letter To Me | quartercenturysouthernliving

Leave a Reply

