Pep in my Step

I was talking to my college roommate on the phone last night, and the two of us were taking turns, telling each other how we had both been feeling a little D in the D lately. Down in the dumps that is, in case you donโ€™t frequently speak in abbreviations. I took no magic pill during this conversation, but somehow felt a lot better after talking to her. Amazing what a phone call with one of your best friends can do to remind you how blessed you are. As I soaked in my bubble bath afterwards, I considered other ways to refocus my perspective and to find the pep in my step. My instant mood boosters include โ€“

Working Out. After a frustrating day in school, sports always made me feel better. There is something about running, walking, kicking a soccer ball, and swinging a tennis racket that I still find to be so beneficial.

Country Music. Every once in a while, you just need to find a good song, put your sunglasses on, roll the windows down, and sing and dance and not care who sees you.

ImageLooking Forward. I am all about living in the moment, but sometimes it helps to look forward to a weekend, a getaway, a race, or a celebration.

Reality TV. Yes, Snooki & JWoww are my therapy and I am totally okay with admitting that. I enjoy taking an hour long break from my to-do-list and watching others live.

Image

Family. This is where it all starts and ends for me. My family, dogs included, keep me grounded and remind me what is truly important in life.

Reader Question: What are some of your instant pick-me-ups?

44 thoughts on “Pep in my Step

  1. Spending a little bit of time complaining about things is actually one of my favorite pick-me-ups. I find that if I allow myself a little bit of dedicated gripe time, I’m able to get it all out of my system and move on. If that doesn’t work, a cookie usually does the trick ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Just found your blog! I live in friendswood south of Houston! The Houston rodeo part caught my eye. My husband and I went Saturday to see The Band Perry! I love the rodeo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Definitely music for me as well. When I’m down Led Zeppelin is always what I listen too…instant mood booster! Also reality TV, My favorite is definitely the Bachelor/Bachelorette..Im obsessed!

  4. glad your feeling better! i go a couple times a week and meet my friend for some coffee and we just vent and i always feel better.. working out and music is also another mood booster.. i will blast songs in the car and usually just cry about them, even if im not sad hahaa

  5. Today was one of the most stressful days I’ve had in a LONG time. I got a quick run in this morning that helped for a little bit, but it went downhill from there. I had been invited for dinner at my friend’s and was seriously dreading going. I knew how excited she was about it, though, so I made myself go. Good thing I did – I was in a MUCH better mood by the time I left. So I hear ya!

    • Sorry to hear that you had such a stressful day! I am so glad to hear that dinner at your friend’s place made you feel better. I always do the same when I am feeling down and avoid hanging out with people. Then, once I am with my family and friends, I feel so much happier.

  6. Instant pick-me-up = bookstores, coffee, homemade popcorn and blogging, reruns of old television shows, family, working out, grocery shopping! Haha I know- definitely a few weird ones ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I couldn’t agree with you more about the working out and the time with family! (Plus the other ones too!) For me, I notice a visible change in my mood when I don’t squeeze in a workout 3x a week. I have been going stir crazy this winter and can’t wait to get back into a regular outdoor running routine once the snow gets better. It really does affect my mood!

  8. I love reality tv when feeling down and have no shame about it lol exercise is my instant pick me up. A good sweat session always jolts me out of my ruts.

  9. So many great songs referenced in that picture! Love it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Country music has a way of bringing a grin to my face too. I know that “Cruise” is way over played but I LOVE it. It never ceases to bring a smile to my face when it comes on the radio. It also makes me want to roll my windows down… even when it’s freezing out, ha!

  10. Shopping. I hate to admit it though. But a real bargain can lift my spirits. I sometimes ask one of my boys for a really big hug, or, if I can bring myself to pause: prayer.

Leave a Reply

