An Unexpected Trip to the Farmer’s Market

I plan on making tonight’s post a short one, because let’s be honest, by the time I make it to the end of the work week, the fatigue and random thought train is usually making its way through town.  Chugga-chugga-choo-choo

Dan and I stopped at the grocery store tonight for some essentials; a new toy for Nola, Puffins, a rose ylang-ylang bath bomb, and Bisquick. Okay, so maybe ‘essentials’ was the wrong word. Our purchases were more along the line of impulse buys. Regardless, I went a little boy band crazy when we parked and realized that there was a Farmer’s Market in the lot.

ImageI love Farmer’s Markets. I think it is so fun to walk around, to meet the people behind the booths, to try new products, and of course, to take delicious food home! Tonight, we decided on Pineapple and Habanero Sauce and Raspberry Habanero Jam.

ImageI may or may not be pairing these with some cream cheese and wheat thins tonight.

In other news, holla for the weekend!! One of my best friends took the bar exam this week and I am already looking forward to celebrating with her this weekend. Perhaps at a different type of bar. With a margarita in hand.

Reader Questions: Do you like going to Farmer’s Markets? What are your plans for the weekend?

 

 

 

44 thoughts on “An Unexpected Trip to the Farmer’s Market

  1. I love farmers markets. I’ve only been to a few but they just seem really great getting fresh food and the environment is different from anything I’ve ever experienced.

  2. There’s a farmer’s market in my town that I’ve never be able to go to before. This year, because I work from home now, I plan on taking full advantage of it every week. Fresh veggies sound good to me!

  3. I love going to farmers markets! One of my favorite Saturday morning activities in the summer is going downtown to the farmers market. I also love going to Findlay Market when I’m visiting T in Cincinnati, and the one in Minneapolis is amazing!

  4. ooh I love farmers’ markets! I’m not a fan of spicy foods, though! I go for the fresh fruits and veggies!

  5. Farmer’s Markets are pretty much my favorite thing about summer, no joke! I am actually super jealous that you have them right now. I’m interested in reading about how you liked the pinapple-habanero dressing – It looks like something I would LOVE! My husband’s collegues from Puerto Rico are in town this weekend (poor souls, I’d so much rather be there!) so we are taking them on a tour of MPLS tomorrow. Hopefully they enjoy it!

    • I am with you, girl! I love going to the Farmer’s Market! The pineapple-habanero dip is really good and especially hot! He said that he was down to his last batch of habaneros so it was even spicier than usual.
      I bet your husband’s colleagues will have a great time with you! I would love to visit Puerto Rico!! Have an awesome weekend! 🙂

  6. When it was a little warmer, there is a farmer’s market right outside my work building. Anytime they’re here, I just stand at my window and watch all the people walking through (haha I’m strange). I just love all the local produce and fare that’s being sold and prefer getting staples through them vs. the supermarket.

  7. i LOVE farmer’s markets too. they just make you feel good. fresh food, hard working real people behind the products. it’s all great!

Leave a Reply

