Dinner and a Rerun

Last night, Dan and I did what any hip (did I really just say hip?) and young couple would do. We headed home, changed into our sweats, took the dogs for a walk, and settled in for a night of dinner and reruns. By the time Friday afternoon rolls around, a little R&R always sounds appealing. If I’m being honest, even showering can seem to require too much effort, hence my decision to skip the shower after our walk.

What did make our at home date night more exciting was the fact that it was ‘National Margarita Day.’ I’m not one to ever pass up a margarita, especially on its day of observation. We decided to celebrate by making fajitas, rice, beans, guacamole, and queso, paired with margaritas and a splash of grenadine.

ImageFirst things first, we prepared the margaritas and queso.

Image

I eventually got around to making the fajitas as well. Although with cheese dip and a rita in hand, nothing else seemed quite so pressing.

Image

And, what is dinner without dessert? I made a pan of oatmeal chocolate chip bars, bolding the oatmeal of course in an effort to demonstrate that our meal was somewhat healthy.

Image

We considered renting a movie, but who am I kidding? There is no way I was going to make it through 2 hours of anything without falling asleep on the couch. We opted instead for a couple episodes of ‘House Hunters‘ and whatever else Dan turned to as I began snoring slumbered.

Reader Questions: How did you spend your Friday evening? What are your plans for the rest of the weekend?

46 thoughts on “Dinner and a Rerun

  1. Sounds perfect! I want to come to your house for dinner, haha. My Friday night was spent babysitting and getting to read for 3(!) hours after the kids went to bed ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My Friday night was a lot like yours! Except we had pizza with our margaritas. I did rent a movie, which Mike watched. I think I saw about 15 minutes of it haha.

  3. I had mexican last night too, best thing ! didn’t have margaritas though :-(! i got dragged to go to a bar with a couple friends last night which im a total kill joy on fridays when i go out because i rather be doing exactly what you did lol

  4. I would gladly crash your date night ๐Ÿ˜‰ especially if it meant I could pretend to be healthy eating oatmeal chocolate chip bars

  5. Gotta have dessert.. I made healthy dessert last night too..Those bars looks good ๐Ÿ™‚ I swear there is a national day for everything, but I wish I would have known about this one!

  6. Could we have a do over of that awesome looking meal when we return? Sounds like a perfect Friday night to me. I watched a seventeen inning baseball game. Victory! 2-0…

  7. I had a margarita last night too! Actually, I had one too many and was paying for it this morning. I love staying in on Friday nights – I rarely have energy to do anything but go to bed by 9pm come Friday. I’m so much fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I made guacamole to take to the neighbor’s last night – I’m thinking now about making more to enjoy with some margaritas! I always fall asleep if we order a movie past like 9:00!

  9. Sounds like a great evening to me. Sometimes it is just nice to relax around the house – who am I kidding, it’s always nice to relax around the house ๐Ÿ˜‰ I always want to do something come Friday night but by the time I’m done with work, I’m ready for an early bedtime! The simpler things…right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

