Love You

“Don’t waste your energy trying to change opinions … Do your thing, and don’t care if they like it.” ― Tina Fey, Bossypants

There must have been a wave of self-acceptance and confidence in the air this week, because I have read so many amazing posts about this very topic. It is refreshing to read about the journey that others have taken to feeling self-assured. This is something that I, like many other gals, have struggled with throughout different stages of my life. And to hear your stories and how far so many of you have come is incredibly inspiring.ImageTruth be told, the same insecurities and self-doubt that I carried as a middle school student continue to impact me as a mid-20s adult. I waver in my confidence, and even worse, I waver in my feelings of self-worth. However, in reading your posts and applying them to my own life, I realize that it doesn’t have to be this way. I don’t have to let a number on the scale, a snide remark, one too many chocolate chip cookies, or a bad hair day impact my attitude towards myself.

Image

On the running path near our place, someone spray painted the words “you are beautiful” on the sidewalk. Each time I tackle that incline, I read those words and smile. Dare I say that my goal this week is to incorporate those words into my life and to love myself instead of comparing myself to others. I hope you’ll do the same.

Reader Question: What is one thing you love about yourself?

45 thoughts on “Love You

  1. I’ve been feeling the same way lately! I think the mid-20s are such a weird age and I am constantly feeling like I’m doing something wrong, but it’s comforting to know that I’m not alone in that and it’s uplifting to read about people getting past it. Also, I’ve been meaning to tell you- such a small world! I came across your blog randomly from another blog, but I actually used to go to school with your fiance and I’m really good friends with his friend Jon!

  2. i agree, it is a great message and something that seems to get lost in many of us. I think it is part of that high pressure society that we are all part of but I am glad to see that you recognize your inner and outer beauty

  3. Loving myself is that piece of the puzzle I’m missing to having a healthy relationship with food. You certainly arent the only one out there!!

  4. I really appreciate tonight’s blog… I’ve always struggled with feelings of self-worth and doubt myself in nearly every faculty. That being said, I know I will never be perfect. None of us will. And perfection is all relative anyhow! Each day is an opportunity to be a “better” you than the you, you were the day before (for the glory of God:)

  5. I love this. I’ve loved reading about so many other’s same thoughts on this subject as well. It seems like there’s a big wake up call in our culture lately that just screams, “you DON’t have to be perfect.” I’m glad people are listening.

    One thing I love about myself is my writing skills. I have been a “writer,” if you will, since I was a kid. Always writing stories, poems, nonsense, essays, and now my blog. It’s something that’s come naturally and that is just “me.” 🙂

  6. There are definitely days where I see a lot of the same struggles from a decade ago still controlling my thoughts… it’s tough! I’ve started to learn though that in 5 years, you wont remember a fat day or the day you ate 10 cookies.. you’re going to remember the bigger things, so make THOSE count and forget the small stuff!

  7. You always have such beautiful posts, and I can’t help but smile every time I read them 🙂 Self-worth is something that I’ve always struggled with, but I find that the more I live my life the way that I want to as opposed to trying to live in a way that will impress others, the more comfortable I become with who I am, and the more I start to realize that hey… I’m really not that bad after all 😉

  8. I have this quote from Ellen DeGeneres on a sticky note on my laptop: “Find out who you are and figure out what you believe in. Even if it’s different from what your parents believe in. Stay true to yourself. Have your own opinion. Don’t worry about what people say about you or think about you.” It really does help to see it on there every day. Great post.

  9. I’m definitely not at the point of total self acceptance…yet, but I’m getting closer. Reading blog posts (such as this one) have really helped me build my confidence and realize I am not defined by outward appearances. I am so much more than that. I wish I wasn’t so self conscious and I’m slowly getting there. I think the hardest part is having the ‘setback’ moments. You think you’ve moved past a certain mindset only to be caught off guard when it sneaks back up on you at an inappropriate/random time. Thanks again for this post girl – I think many of us can relate!

  10. great post 🙂 ..i’m heading to the beach today (been wayyy too stressed out lately!) so i loved that first pic with the writing in the sand 😉

  11. Love that – especially that someone painted it on the running trail. With doing and now teaching body pump, I have seen muscles come out that I haven’t seen since I was a competitive swimmer in college – and I am loving it. . . I also try not to compare myself to the girl next to me in class that is lifting heavier, has a smaller waist, cutter clothes, etc. Just enjoy how I am feeling and how far I have come!

  12. You know I love this post! Such a great message, and what a wonderful thing for someone to spray paint! Isn’t it crazy how the insecurities of our childhoods really do carry on to adulthood? It’s not easy to let go of those insecurities and is pretty much a constant battle, but it can definitely be done 🙂 You’ll get there!

  13. Aw this is such a great post. I needed this today too. I like that you asked such a sweet question at the end too. I love my energy. (Definitely a little strange saying what I love about myself but my spirits already feel lifted!) Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

