All in a Day’s Shopping Trip

We went back to Costco this week. Aka, my happy place. I kid you not, we had 4 items on our list. One step into the superstore and that list went out the window. Whatever marketing tactics they use, kudos to them. I compare myself to a contestant on ‘Supermarket Sweepstakes’ as I hurry down the aisles and take items off the shelves like I am planning for the ’19 Kids and Counting’ Duggar family to come visit for a month.

Of course I am sure I really needed the jumbo bag of chocolate chips, 2 bags of flour, 2 boxes of oatmeal, and the oranges that could feed an entire YMCA soccer league.

Image

I was especially excited about 2 of my impulse buys. The first was “Gone Girl.” De had included this in one of her monthly loves lists, and convinced my to buy it as I became that girl, the one trying to navigate the store and text about whether it was worth purchasing. Sorry to the woman that I almost ran into full force. My b.

Image

My other favorite purchase of the evening came in the form of chocolate hazlenut spread. If you haven’t had Nutella, drop whatever you are doing and go buy a container. You think I’m joking. One of my best friends in high school and I used to have this peanut butter, Nutella, graham cracker concoction everyday at lunch. Some things never change.

Reader Questions: Where do you do most your grocery shopping? What foods are you loving this week?

28 thoughts on “All in a Day’s Shopping Trip

  1. Oh Costco… I’d love to do more shopping the, but the crazy crowds kind of turn me off. And the jumbo bag of chocolate chips and oatmeal were definitely necessities in my humble opinion 🙂 As for what I’ve been loving lately… tomato anything. Ketchup, salsa, pasta sauce… Lately I’ve been craving it so bad that I culd honestly eat it straight from the jar with a spoon, no prob.

  2. I have never actually been to a Costco! I’m sure once we move to a house instead of an 850-square foot condo, shopping there will make a lot more sense 🙂 Nutella is never on my list – I can easily eat an entire jar in one sitting, ha! I normally always have to buy apples, baby carrots and Greek yogurt.

  3. I listened to Gone Girl on audio book and thought it was pretty good! Let me know what you think. . .and don’t worry, I am the same way with Sam’s Club – always end up buying way more things than we should.

  4. I want a Costco!! Wahhh haha. I am sure I would have the same supermarket sweepstakes attitude as you. Finding grocery shopping fun makes me feel like an official grown-up. And Nutella!! Obsessed with that stuff.

  5. I always go to Costco when I’m home and end up driving back to lex with a trunk full. I wish there was one near me. Nutella is dangerous, it’s just too good!

  6. I love Costco! I am realllly lucky that we don’t have one near my college town or I’d be in a lot of trouble 🙂 haha and I am a sucker for Nutella! I used to LOVE dipping pretzels in it in my freshman year of college.. which is probably where the freshman 15 started 😉

  7. I haven’t been to Costco in the longest time. The people I nanny for have a membership there and I am sure they’d let me use it, I just feel a little weird doing so; however this post has inspired me to go! PS- Loved Gone Girl! You will have to let us know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

