Live in the Moment

I am a to-do-list kind of person. At any given time, I have an assortment of personal and professional TDLs waiting to be conquered. I love finishing a project and crossing it off my list. In a lot of ways, I appreciate the feeling of accomplishment and organization imbedded in this way of life. Yet recently I have realized the flaw of this habit, that being, I often live in the future rather than in the moment. I am so focused on what needs to be done, or what is next, that I miss simply appreciating the present moment and the beauty it brings.

ImageRather than waiting for a day, or week, or month, or new year to commit to living in the moment, I realize that there truly is no better time than today. This weekend, I decided to forgo the to go list and to do what I wanted instead.

I enjoyed the beautiful weather and relaxed with my friends at a baseball game.

ImageI spontaneously opted to grab appetizers and a drink over pajamas and a movie.

ImageAnd I enjoyed a night out with some of our best friends.

Image

Reader Question: What do you find best helps you to live in the moment!?

23 thoughts on “Live in the Moment

  1. I too often find myself living in the future instead of in the moment. I can’t just be spontaneous. I’m really glad you had a live in the moment kind of weekend. Sometimes those are just what you need!

  2. I am so similar– I’m always talking about “when we move into our next place” (5 years away) or “when we have kids” (who knows when) or when I graduate (at least 3 more years). I’m living in the future all the time! You’re so right that living in the present is important, that’s where we make the best memories! I’m going to try to do less planning and more living this week.

  3. I am also not good at living in the moment. I always have lists of things that need to get done and like to be scheduled! I’m going to try to get all of my weekly errands out of the way during the week this week so I can spend next weekend just living in the moment ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I feel exactly the same way! And it’s so weird because yesterday I had a to-do list a mile long and I ended up ditching it to get brunch with my boyfriend instead and it actually ended up being one of my favorite Saturdays in a long time. I definitely need to be more mindful of living in the moment. It sounds like you’re having a great weekend!

  5. I love that you did this. I too am obsessed with lists. I get seriously upset if I don’t finish my to-do list for the day. I really need to learn to let go and learn that things can usually wait. Your drink looks delicious! I am so glad that you did this for yourself ๐Ÿ™‚ Would it be a bad thing if I said that wine helps me live in the moment?

  6. Sounds like you had a great weekend!!
    I went out for the first time in forever this weekend instead of staying in and having my usual low-key Friday night, too! It was so much fun but I have to say that I regretted it Saturday morning ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh well, it was fun!

  7. I feel like I could have written this post. I always feel like I need to be accomplishing something that will get me to my future goals that I forget to relax and enjoy where I am.

  8. I am also a to-do list kind of person. I am the same way too, putting my to-dos before anything else at times. It’s so easy for me to forget that I need to stop and LIVE this life before it all slips away too fast. I think living in the moment is something I have to remind myself of DAILY. It’s hard, but I try to have at least one part of the day where I am not focusing on a task, or any change, but instead just being, and being happy at that.

  9. I’ve very like you with the to-do lists and planning. My husband is very much the opposite. We’ve both rubbed off on each other over the years. I’m more spontaneous now than I ever was before meeting him and surprise of all surprise, the man actually makes to-do lists to help keep him organized at work, haha! Anyway, looks like you had a wonderful weekend just being spontaneous and living in the moment!

  10. i am the same way… i been trying to get better with it! i think with school going on i still am more planning for the future more often but when im free for weekends and vacations i am so spontaneous and i love it and wish i was alwaysss like it. Id wake up with no plans just ready to do whatever comes my way. glad you enjoyed your wknd!

  11. this weekend I lived in the moment. drove to visit a friend and we didn’t make plans. we did whatever we want and even if it ended up staying in most of the day watching HP (since I’ve never seen it). it was the most carefree I’ve been in a long time. not having some kind of schedule, etc. I hope you felt the same too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Baseball on a sunny afternoon, that should be on your to-do list! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s definitely hard to unwind and not be go-go-go all the time, but it’s so worth it to enjoy your weekends and time with family and friends!

  13. Girl, sometimes I will do something that wasn’t on my to-do list and then actually write it down after completing it, solely so I can get the satisfaction of crossing it out. Crazy, right? So, I totally get you with the to-do list!

    I pretty much blew off everything this weekend too though and just enjoyed life. It was wonderful! ๐Ÿ™‚ There is a lot to be said for living in the moment!

  14. Beautiful post! I love where you said, “… I decided to forgo the to go list and to do what I wanted instead”. It looks like you had a great weekend! So happy for you!

    I feel like if I didn’t have to-do lists, I would fall behind. Being spontaneous and finding balance are two things that I’m working to live my life to the fullest. A couple of weeks ago, one of my coworkers and I were talking about living life to the fullest and came to the conclusion that life is no fun if you don’t dance. Then, we did a little dance! If only more moments were like this!

    Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

