Friday Night Protein Bites

Growing up, I was hardly a 3 meals a day kind of girl. If I’m being honest, I was more of a 1 meal, 10 snacks a day kind of girl. My mom would joke that my dinner lasted between the hours of 4:00 and 6:00. By the time the rest of my family ate a ‘real’ meal, I was already full on cereal, granola bars, yogurt, and some form of chocolate, or frosting, or both. 

I am happy to say that with age, I have developed more of a balanced and healthy lifestyle. Today, I will gladly sit down to a supper of vegetable soup and bread.

Image

That’s not to say that I don’t still love my snacks, because, let’s face it, snacks are amazing. However, I have managed to trade my Dunkaroos for Protein Bites. Partially because I can no longer find Dunkaroos at the store, and partially because Protein Bites seem to fill me up and leave me feeling fuller longer.

Image

Dan and I stopped at the grocery store on our way home tonight to grab the ingredients for nachos. Ever since reading the recipe De posted last week, I have been having mad cravings. While at the store, I decided to stock up on the ingredients for chocolate peanut butter protein bites as well. If you’re feeling like getting creative in the kitchen and could use a post-workout or midday snack, here is the recipe I use-Image

  • 3/4 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

 I mixed all my ingredients and let chill for 30 minutes before rolling these bites.

Image

Reader Questions: Have you ever made protein bites? What are your favorite snacks?

31 thoughts on “Friday Night Protein Bites

  1. YUM. Thanks for this! Snacks really are the best. Dunkaroos were my jam back in the day. Along with those little packs of crackers with the fake cheese you spread with the red stick. I’m with you though….I feel that as I’ve gotten older my craving for certain foods has changed. I look forward to healthy dinners like I didn’t use to. I try really hard to control my snacking around meal times. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. My schedule is so all over the place that sometimes I just need to go with the flow and whatever happens, happens. I discovered a new protein powder at my gym today that is absolutely amazing so I’m definitely going to try it out adding it into your recipe 🙂 Have an awesome night ❤

  2. I have a protein power ball recipe that is very similar and delicious! I need to make some more this weekend. I was thinking about making some for my foodie penpal, Im wondering if they will be ok to ship? They dont need to be refrigerated….hmmm

  3. I still see Dunkaroos in the store 😀 I’ve been tempted to pick them up a few times to see if they’re as good as I remember, but I’m still holding off for now. And I was the same way with snacking when I was younger… and to be honest, not all that much has changed 😆 I think the problem is just that I want a little bit of everything… so that’s what I end up doing.

    • What!?!? You just rocked my world! I haven’t seen them for years. Although, now that you say this, I may need to search a little harder. Just for research purposes of course, like, are they as good as we remember? I always want a bit of everything too! 🙂

  4. I was totally just about to comment “uh what about the nachos?!” then I realized you linked to it. Oops. I need to get with this protein ball trend because it seems really popular and I’m also a snackaholic so maybe something healthy would be a good choice!

  5. I am also a serial snacker! Big meals leave me too full and I love that you can try 10 things in smaller portions via snacking, haha! I have never made my own protein bites – I’ll have to give your recipe a try though 🙂

  6. growing up especially when I was able to drive and stuff all I did was snack ! dunkaroos and fruit by the foot were my go to’s ! these look sooo good ! all my fav stuff all in one recipe, score!

  7. Okay, seriously – I LOVE dunkaroos! Holy cow, do I love those things! Recently, I found out they were still around and I had to resist the urge to buy them SO badly. Frosting and cookies – what’s not to love? This is definitely a much healthier more grown up version of a sweet snack, though. I’d love to try these!

  8. I was more of a 1 meal, 10 snacks a day kind of girl too! As soon as I got home from school, I went right for the fridge or pantry! Today though, I spread out my meals and snacks throughout the day to keep me fueled, rather than having like 5 bowls of ice cream in 5 minutes. haha Today, I’ve traded in ice cream for Greek yogurt. Toppings include anything from pumpkin to chia seeds! For the past couple of months, I’ve been hooked on mixing pumpkin with vanilla Greek yogurt!

Leave a Reply

