The Pursuit of Passion

“Have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”-Steve Jobs

Okay, it’s time to get real. In the midst of my happy-go-lucky posts, I relish in the opportunity to write about something that has been weighing on my mind. These posts leave me feeling vulnerable, but, if I’m being honest, that’s one of my favorite things about writing.

Lately I have spent a lot of time considering my passions in life. Aka, my inner dialogue reads something like this: “What am I doing with my life and what do I want to do with my life?” For some reason, I have always had trouble articulating this. I’m 25 years old, nearing 26, yet this probably started at least 15 years ago, or whenever I was first given an assignment in school to write and present what I wanted to be when I “grew up.” In 4th grade, this assignment wasn’t nearly as anxiety producing as it was as a senior in college, with an undergraduate degree in psychology, and no clue of what the future would hold, and even worse, no clue of what I wanted it to hold.

Well, I think I am starting to figure it out. About time.

Image

When I allow my mind to wander, it usually leads me to…

Writing. This, right here, is what I love to do. I have also written a novel, which hopefully one day, I will find the courage to attempt publishing.

Working Out. I am one of the rare breeds that loves to work out. Dare I say it, I enjoyed 2-a-days during cross country and soccer season. I may not offer the same intimidation as Jillian Michaels, but I would love to help others become passionate about finding a healthy lifestyle.

 Image

Dogs. If you ask me, there are few greater things in life than dogs.  I’m the girl who has to stop people to ask if I can pet their dog, and I most certainly have a ‘dog voice,’ you know, the mode you go into when you see a dog. Or maybe you don’t know, and I’m just crazy. Either way, dogs are amazing.

Image

Baking. Baking is and always has been great stress relief for me. Something about preparing a loaf of banana bread allows my mind to wander to such a happy place.

Image

Family and Friends. While I would love to ultimately build a career in which I could pursue my passions, I know that life is about so much more than what you do for a living. My family and friends bring me incredible joy. I know that regardless of the path I choose, game nights, family dinners, football tailgates, and weekend getaways will always be part of my life. And for that, I am grateful.

Image

I realize that this was a much longer post than usual. Thanks for bearing with me!

Reader Question: What are your passions?

42 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Passion

  1. I am with you, once I entered the real world this may I have wondered am I doing what I will be doing for a while? you know what I have no idea and what I am learning is that it is a process. a long learning process

  2. Cookie, working out, and getting to know a person really deeply are my passions. I love asking people questions 🙂 Your passions are all really wonderful, and I totally know what you mean about having a “dog voice.”

  3. This post is perfect! There’s no reason you can’t do what you love 🙂 You’ll find some way to incorporate everything. And you need to pursue publishing that novel! I can only imagine how much time and energy it took to write it; you deserve some recognition girl 🙂

  4. those are some great passions! it’s def hard to figure it out and as long as you are putting it in a big picture you are in the right direction! I am passionate about helping people. I started by looking into personal training but then I realized I loved helping people so that’s why I’m going to go to nursing school 🙂

  5. I’m glad we’re the same person. I love to work out too. More than anything, actually. I’d love to do two-a-days (of the kinds I enjoy) every day and be a happy camper. I’m addicted to the runners high. Oh, and I like taste testing baking, so if you ever need a sampler… 😉
    Glad to know that it doesn’t change once you graduate. I don’t know what I want to do and I’m sick of people asking me about it. I have 3 whole semester left, jeesh!

  6. Oh girl can I relate to the anxiety that comes with not knowing what you want to do ‘when you grow up’… I’m all grown up, and I still really have no idea what I want to do. My biggest passion in life is writing, and I would definitely jump at any opportunity to be able to pursue a career in it.

  7. I am with you on this one. On paper I have a solid “career” and while it’s somewhat in line with my interests, for the majority of my existence on this planet, 100% of my passion has been musical theatre: dancing, singing, & performing. Unfortunately, it is a rare luxury to have your passion as your day job. I’ve only had one paid musical theatre job and it was the greatest thing ever- getting a paycheck for being on stage. I wish I could do that all the time. Or blog for a living.

    Le sigh. Love you girl! ❤

  8. I love this, girl! I feel the same way right now, always thinking what the heck am I doing with my life? It’s so niave for people to think that you grow up and just “figure it out” all at once. I really feel like our twenties are when we “figure it out,” whatever it is.

    We have a lot in common in terms of passions. That is SO cool that you wrote a book. I would love to write a book someday.

    • Thank you so much, Melissa! I completely agree with you, I think it takes a little more time to figure it out. Or at least it is taking that extra time for me. I think that if you want to write a book, then you absolutely can and should do it!! 🙂

  9. That’s awesome that you’ve written a novel! I’d love to sit down and get something like that accomplished…maybe one day! I’m also a dog lover- dog voice and everything. And I call every dog a puppy because they are all just so cute!

  10. I love working out, it just makes you feel so good! Most of my friends don’t understand this. Love dogs, especially Bentley bear, and baking. My friends understand these loves. Especially when I’m bringing them the baked goods 🙂

  11. I can definitely relate to this! After I graduated college this past May, I felt like I had to make decisions that would make my professors, family, peers, and classmates happy. I realize now that I need to focus on what makes me happy. I know that I want to help others achieve healthy lifestyles, I’m just not sure what my exact job title will be, and I’m okay with that.

    Keep following your heart! 🙂

    • I completely agree and could not have put it any better. I spent a long time trying to please others and only now am I beginning to see that I need to do what makes me happy and fulfills me too. I think it is great that you are simply pursuing what you love!

  12. “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are” – e.e. cummings ♥ ..do what makes you come alive girl 😉

  13. I am still trying to figure this out too and I just turned 28! I would love to do freelance writing, own my own bakery/coffeeshop and teach nutrition and fitness to underprivaledged (spelling?) youth. Seems like a huge task but I would LOVE it!!

Leave a Reply

