Mid-Week Must Haves

“One of the main reasons that we lose our enthusiasm in life is because we become ungrateful. We let what was once a miracle become common to us. We get so accustomed to his goodness it becomes a routine.”― Joel Osteen, Your Best Life Now: 7 Steps to Living at Your Full Potential

I have decided that I need to read this quote if not each morning, at least a couple times throughout the week. Because, if I’m being honest, when I awake in the middle of the night feeling stressed, or am entirely overwhelmed in my days, gratitude is not always at the forefront of my thoughts. I figure that there is no better way to be grateful for your blessings than by counting them.

Which brings me to my mid-week must haves! My mid-week must haves are the experiences and people that help me to appreciate each day for what it offers. This week I am looking forward to the following must haves-

Frozen Yogurt. Fro Yo outings are a weekly thing for our household. I load mine with gummi worms and enjoy every last bite.

Wii Competitions. Dan and I get pretty intense in our Mario Kart races. He claims that he beats me every time, but let’s be real, I taught him all he knows. I am basically the equivalent of Mr. Miyagi in the ‘Karate Kid‘. Aka, I am Dan’s sensei.

Image

DVR. If you read my blog, you know that like all classy ladies, I have a deep appreciation for ‘The Bachelor‘. The fact that it is on, not once, but twice this week is simply glorious.

Image

Popcorn and m&ms accompanied by a glass of wine. I think that the ‘Hannah Montana’ theme song, ‘Best of Both Worlds’, was originally written about the coupling of these amazing products.

Image

Family Dinners. No surprise here, I love my mom and dad. They live about a block away from us, and I take full advantage of the proximity. I also take full advantage of my mom’s cooking, and our mother-daughter date nights. Last week, we headed out for Vietnamese. On that note, I have a new-found appreciation for Peanut Sauce. It is so good!Image

Reader Question: What are your mid-week must haves?

44 thoughts on “Mid-Week Must Haves

  1. I put m&m’s on my popcorn too! And gummy worms on my fro yo 🙂 So nice to look back at the good things. And I love that quote!

  2. im thinking this week I am going to need a diet mt dew and i dont even drink pop! I saw one in the vending machine as I was walking in to work and I thought, its going to be a long week, ill prob need one of those. When I worked night shift I would drink 2 regular mt dew’s per night, ew gross! Not like diet is any better, but you get me right lol! And my satellite went out last night due to the snow so I missed the bachelor I am so sad! I need to catch up before tonights episode!

  3. I’m a little mad at you for Fro Yo in February. Can you send some of that Texas weather over here? Grr.

    I’m with you on the popcorn + m&m combo. Nailed it.

    My mid-week must haves: Home-cooked dinner with the BF, voice lessons, Workaholics (I’m a 12 yr old boy inside), hot cocoa with big marshmallows, and wine. Lots o’ wine.

  4. It is a good week when The Bachelor is on twice. . . usually I have to wait until the weekend to watch it on my own though. . . my mid-week must have is my morning coffee. I usually will splurge on Caribou once during a weekday and that makes everything better!

  5. I LOVE that quote. Really needed to read that today (and probably every day, like you said). It’s so easy for me to be “unhappy,” but really, I am just being ungrateful for the good that I do have. Thanks for the reminder! And your popcorn/m&m’s combo looks delish!

  6. Thank you for sharing that quote – I loved it so much that I wrote it down myself and will definitely be using it as a reminder to appreciate the little things. My must-haves? Cereal. Chocolate. Foamy cappuccinos. Baking dates with my mom. Sunshine. PJ’s. Good books 😀

  7. I am craving popcorn really badly now, haha. Maybe covered in peanut sauce. With a side of my family 🙂 Not to eat, to eat with. Family dinners are definitely something to be grateful for!

  8. Fro yo is ALWAYS a must have! 😉

    I absolutely love popcorn and chocolate, but I have never thought to combine the two. Genius!! Now you will probably get me started on a really bad habit… 😉

    DVR is SO a must have. I have been missing it greatly ever since I moved out of my parents’ house :(.

  9. I miss family dinner so much. More than anything else about being home, actually. ANd froyo midweek is so necessary. Thanks for the suggestion- I think that will totally pick me up out of this mid-week slump!

Leave a Reply

