Food, Family, Friends & Football

As mentioned last week, Dan and I decided to host a Super Bowl gathering at our place. If you ask me, food, family, friends, and football is quite the winning combination. 

ImageAside from our run with Nola, the majority of my Sunday was spent planning the Super Bowl menu, grocery shopping, with a few impulse buys of course, and prepping food for the game.
ImageFor our main course, we had build your own paninis, no surprise there. We offered a variety of cheeses- pepper jack, cheddar, mozzarella, and brie. We also had an assortment of deli meats for the meat eaters in the group, aka, everyone except me. Our friends brought pizza rolls, fruit and dip, chips, and pico de gallo. Do you think we had enough food?
Image
Naturally, no meal is complete without a little dessert. I figured that for the Super Bowl, you better go big or go home, hence the ultimate decision to bake Texas Sheet Cake. Texas Sheet Cake has always been a family favorite. My recipe comes from my mom’s 1973 ‘First Ladies’ cookbook, if  it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 
 
Ingredients for the Cake:
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
*Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a saucepan, place butter, cocoa, and water; bring to a boil. Add dry ingredients, stirring constantly. Then add buttermilk, eggs, and vanilla. Bake on greased cookie sheet for 16-20 minutes at 350 degrees. Frost while hot.
Image
Ingredients for the Frosting:
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 box powdered sugar
  • 6 tablespoons milk
*Mix and spread on hot sheet cake
Image
The frosting on this cake is hands down my favorite part. It tastes like fudge, ah-mazing.
 
Reader Questions: Did you do anything for the Super Bowl? What was the best food you ate this weekend?
24 thoughts on “Food, Family, Friends & Football

  1. The first time I had Texas sheet cake was at my old job. My boss brought it in and she said my face when I tried it was one of the funniest she had ever seen.
    SO good. Glad you had a great time! My night was pretty boring, but fun. Luke and I just wanted to stay in our sweats, so we did. Good decision. Have a great day 🙂

  2. Ummmm next year I’m going to your house for football. Paninis and cake? YUMMMMM. My stomach is growling thinking about it!

  3. I love cake 🙂 And your dog 🙂 SO cute….I just laid low at the house last night too, nothing crazy. I basically just watched the commercials, the half time show, and some of the end to see who won 🙂 lol

  4. Food, family, and friends – definitely. Football is welcome to make an appearance, but totally not required 😉 I wouldn’t really say that I watched the game this weekend, but I checked in every now and again to see what was going on – the last few minutes DID suck me in though… it was so close!

  5. Food, family, friends, and football is quite the winning combination! I’m with everyone else on this one, the panini and sheet cake idea is ingenious!

    The best food I ate all weekend was the vegetarian chile I bought from Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

