Warm Weather and Pumpkin Smoothies

Monday got off to a bit of a slow start as I wasn’t feeling quite 100%. By a bit of a slow start, I mean, I laid in bed, turned on DVRd episodes of the Biggest Loser, and cuddled with Nola until noon. That’s right, noon. And it felt good. I hardly ever spend a whole morning in bed knowing how much I could be doing, but sometimes it’s just necessary.
ImageWe celebrated Nola’s adoption day by taking advantage of the beautiful weather and bringing her on a leisurely 4 mile walk. As we discussed what we would eat for lunch after hitting the trail, Dan and I realized that we had little to no options. I would tell you the last time we made a legitimate trip to the grocery store if I could remember. Honestly. So, we made a shopping list, and finally stocked our fridge. If I had the before picture, I promise you would be impressed.
Image
I decided to make a new pumpkin smoothie to snack on in the afternoon. I know pumpkin is typically reserved for the fall, but I’m a big fan and it sounded so good.
Image Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup vanilla frozen yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 ice cubes
Image
I was really pleased by the result and have a feeling that this smoothie will be making regular appearances in our kitchen.
Reader Questions: Are you a fan of smoothies? What healthy foods are planning to incorporate into your meals this week?
23 thoughts on “Warm Weather and Pumpkin Smoothies

  1. Can you send some of that weather this way please?! I love smoothies. I’m a big fan of strawberry, banana and blueberry. yum. PS: I love your back splash.

  2. I love pumpkin anytime of the year. I was the child who demanded pumpkin pie for all holidays! I love any smoothie that incorporates bananas and I’ve recently become a fan of the green monster!

  3. I think I drink a smoothie just about everyday. I change up the flavors, so I never get bored with them.

    I plan on eating a lot of broccoli, quinoa and shrimp this week! I made some thai turkey burgers tonight and Dave tore those up. He had 3 and would have eaten more if there was anything left! They were pretty healthy and so delicious!

  4. YUM that sounds delicious. I need to try that, I love smoothies for dessert. I usually do a VERY ripe banana (so sweet, it’s a dessert in itself), coconut milk, and cinnamon & honey. Good to have some variations now!

Leave a Reply

