Weekend Loves

I am happy to announce that after yesterday’s early riser post, I was able to get a little pep in my step. The temps have been in the 60s and sunny this weekend, so I appreciate any chance I have to get outside.

Image

Dan and I recently decided to start training for a 1/2 marathon, race destination still undecided. We need to find a legitimate training program, but until we do, we are incorporating longer runs into our workout routine. Yesterday we took Nola to a nearby park and completed a 5 mile loop.Β 

ImageAfter a much needed shower, we headed out to celebrate our friend Emily’s birthday. Thankfully, our friends appreciate an afternoon spent lounging on the couch as much as we do. The day consisted of a healthy helping of pizza and wine, and of course, NFL playoff games and celebrity gossip.

Image

Once home, I somehow managed to stay awake to watch two episodes of Parenthood, aka, the best show on television.Β 

Image

Today is our 1-year anniversary with the Nola Babe. She and Dan are still sleeping, but once they’re awake, the celebration of dog treats and walks will begin.Β 

Reader Question: What was the best part of your weekend? Any recommendations for 1/2 marathons during the summer months?

26 thoughts on “Weekend Loves

  1. Happy Birthday!!! Hope you have lots of fun celebrating. Dog birthdays are so much fun. πŸ™‚ Basically because they have no idea what’s going on, but it is the best day ever because they get lots of treats! The best part of my weekend was feeding Luke his 1st ice cream cone – the pictures we got were priceless!

  2. Happy Birthday to your dog! πŸ™‚ Duluth, MN (my hometown) has an awesome marathon (half and full), Grandma’s Marathon. The atmosphere is really fun. I’ve been looking around at half marathons to run as well! [Not sure if I will be where I want to be by June’s Grandmas]

  3. Grandmas would be perfect in Duluth. Ran my first marathon there. I also have a great training schedule for a half. Your five miles this weekend is a great base.

  4. Happy Anniversary to you guys and Nola! She is too cute!! My recommendations for half-marathons in the summer is to do it in early June, I did one in late July last year and it was miserably hot! Oh and drink a LOT of water the week leading up to the race! You can’t be hydrated enough πŸ™‚

  5. I can’t even tell you how envious I am of your weather. I look outside and see nothing but overcast skies and snow. Boo. I guess that’s what I get for being Canadian πŸ˜‰

    Happy doggy anniversary! We always celebrate our dog’s special day too, and it’s nice to see others doing it πŸ˜€

    • I grew up in Iowa, so I can totally relate! I saw that the weather was in the single digits in my hometown today. The frigid winters definitely played a factor in my decision to move to Texas!
      I think it is completely normal and fun to celebrate dog’s birthdays πŸ™‚ I’m glad you agree!

  6. You should check out a half marathon in the Rock n Roll Series. Those races are huge and have a lot of energy and in my experience, they are really well organized! Can’t wait to read about the race you choose! You guys are going to do great!

Leave a Reply

