Sunday Morning Sun is Shining

Based solely on my sleep patterns, you would swear that I must either be a toddler or a senior citizen. Like clockwork, I was up this morning slightly after 6:00. I stumbled around our dark bedroom, managing to only knock into a few items while gathering the laptop, my cell phone, a blanket, and a pillow. Initially, I was a bit annoyed by my early bird tendencies. Yet as I curled up on the couch in the silence of our living room, I came to appreciate the meditative nature of the moment. 

Image

This morning provided me the opportunity to simply be, which in this world, is a rarity. The silence allowed me a moment to be sad that my sister and nephews went home, but more so, to be grateful for the amazing memories of their trip. It granted me the chance to renew my mindset for the day and to refocus on my goals. It allowed me to see that yesterday’s one too many cupcakes are behind me, and today’s run is still ahead.

Image

Reader Questions: What is your goal for today?  What are you grateful for today?

12 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Sun is Shining

  1. I totally agree with you about early morning awakenings. . . Luke likes to get up between 5:30 and 6:00am. At first I would totally dread it, but it gives me some extra quiet time during the morning, just hanging out with Luke, extra time to get a few more things done. It really is a blessing in disguise!

  2. Occasionally it’s nice to get out of bed early because it gives me so many more hours to get things done in the day. However, I’d much rather sleep in late. My goal for today is to work on my blog and prepare some foods to make the week easier.

  3. I love the picture! When I can get up before everyone I really enjoy it. It’s nice to just sit and think about what I have planned for the day and enjoy a little time to me time. Enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

