When Dark Chocolate Won’t Do

Alright, so I know we’re all still kicking butt and taking names on our New Year’s resolutions, and I almost feel guilty doing this, but I have to share my all time favorite dessert with you! Ever since I answered yesterday’s question, If you could eat only one dessert for the rest of your life, what would it be? I have been craving CRAVING scotcheroos.

My grandma used to make this delactable dessert for me when I was little, and I literally looked forward to it for days. Needless to say, my love for the chocolatey concoction hasn’t waned.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup-so maybe 1.5 cups– semi-sweet chocolate morsels
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:

1. Place corn syrup and sugar into a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until the sugar dissolves and the mixture begins to boil. Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter. Mix well. Add Rice Krispies. Stir until well coated. Press mixture into a pan coated with cooking spray. Set aside.
Image
2. Melt chocolate chips and butterscotch chips together in a saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly. Spread evenly over the cereal mixture. Let sit until set.

Image

“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.” -Julia Child

Reader Question: What is your all time favorite dessert? And, what is your favorite way to work that dessert off at the gym?

16 thoughts on “When Dark Chocolate Won’t Do

  1. That looks amazing! I just might have to try it sometime! I love better than sex (or Robert Redford) cake.. So good! A good workout on the treadmill makes me feel a little better afterwards! 🙂

  2. My mouth is watering! You had me a chocolate and butterscotch!

    My favorite dessert would have to be the white chocolate bread pudding from the Nordstrom’s Cafe. Note: that answer is subject to change. haha
    And I love (okay – the word ‘love’ may be an exaggeration) working it off with a long run or a spin class!

  3. I love cake (and cupcakes) so much! They are the best. For our wedding we actually had cakes for our centerpieces at every table because we both love cake that much. I also love scotcharoos – we call them special K bars in my house because we make them with special k cereal. yum!

  4. oh yum! Grandmas are always the best at making sweets. My grandma makes awesome fudge. I don’t know if I have a favorite dessert because I love it all! Cookie dough truffles sound good and froyo of course…I could go on! And working it off? Hmm lots and lots of cardio lol!

Leave a Reply

