Home for the Holidays

Merry Christmas! I hope that wherever you are, and whatever you are doing, you are surrounded by those you love, and enjoying all the blessings of the holiday season. Danny Stevie and I are spending Christmas with my parents and our good friends in Houston this year, partaking in my family’s longstanding traditions.

ImageAfter last night’s Christmas Eve candlelight service, Dan made margaritas, mom and dad prepped dinner, and I captured it all on my camera of course. We feasted on a buffet line of homemade tacos, faux meat, refried beans, lettuce, peppers, onions, guacamole, and salsa.

ImageFollowing dinner, mom and I made our overnight caramel rolls and chocolate chip cheesecake. Dan says that the caramel rolls look like General Tso’s chicken in this picture, and I am afraid he might be right. I apologize that my lack of photography skills do do not do my mom’s Christmas rolls justice.

ImageAfter this morning’s walk, aka, calorie burn, and rolls, aka, calorie intake, we scoured the tree for the pickle ornament. The pickle determines who will open the first present. Although Dan cheated by restraining and tickling me, he did still find the ornament. Unfair is fair, I guess.

ImageI dutifully placed our presents into separate piles and the opening frenzy began. Luckily, we had three dogs to help us tear through the wrapping paper.

Image

Now onto Christmas lunch and “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

What are your holiday traditions?

Leave a Reply

