The Simplest Things and the Greatest Glow of Happiness

“When we recall Christmas past, we usually find that the simplest things – not the great occasions – give off the greatest glow of happiness.” -Bob Hope

This week, more than most, has served as a reminder of the unexpectedness of life. It is in response to tremendous tragedy that we become acutely aware of the blessings we so often take for granted. As I left my parent’s house last night, I hugged them a bit tighter than usual and sent up a prayer of thanks to God for all that I have been given.

Yesterday afternoon, our kitchen was transformed into a workshop as I prepared holiday gifts for my co-workers. Parchment paper lined every square inch of counter and I heated, dipped, sprinkled, and m&m’d hundreds of pretzels.

ImageI packaged the pretzels with the little creativity I have and was pleased by the end result.

Image

I even managed to wrap a few presents to be placed under our tree, and in doing so, became increasingly excited for the Christmas get-togethers to come.

Image

I was glad to spend a day at home, prepping for the holidays. With a renewed focus on my gratitude for the gift of life, I was thankful for the opportunity to ready gifts for others.

My wish this holiday season is that we all take a moment, or better yet, moments, to see and appreciate the wonders of His love.

Image

Leave a Reply

