Tailgate Time

Fall is super nostalgic for me. As I pass through the school zones on the way to work, I can’t help but be reminded of my first week of high school. I was so jazzed to be able to sit in the student section for the first time at our football games.

Image

I’d say that at age 14, I was probably mediocre looking at best. Rest assured, none of the senior football players were going to know who I was or actually see me as they passed me in the hall. Our quarterback did however have a locker in my same locker bay, and our paths crossed ever so often. One day in particular that very first week, as I drudged my way up the stairs to the 3rd floor of the building, carrying my algebra, biology, and english textbooks, notebooks, and folders, we passed. As I nervously attempted to smile, I lost my footing, fell facedown, and watched my belongings scatter onto the floor. He stopped to help pick up my items. I wished he hadn’t. That was single handedly my most mortifying high school experience…Until I fell down the bleachers at a basketball game.

Image

Luckily, falling up the stairs in front of our star football player did not ruin my love for the sport. Because, College Football starts this Saturday, we’re having a party-complete with Rotel-at our place, and I could not be more excited.

Image

Leave a Reply

