I’m Much Too Old to Feel This Damn Young

Moment of truth: If I flipped past PBS right now and the cartoon, Arthur, was on, I would probably stop and watch it. Okay, I would stop and watch it. Because unlike 25 year olds who drink dirty martinis, and watch Fox News, I prefer guzzling chocolate milk and playing Super Mario Bros.

Image

Before you judge, let me be clear: I’m not a total child. I go to work every day, I sometimes pay bills, I make dinner, or order take-out, same thing. I just believe that getting older doesn’t automatically translate into giving up all the things you loved about childhood.

So, in no particular order, here is my list of stereotypically “child-like” activities that I will continue to participate in through my golden years:

Pick-Up Games. I played tackle football (can you say bad ass) after school every day in 5th grade. If someone asked me to play tonight, I absolutely would.

Syndicated sitcoms. Aka Full House, Boy Meets World, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, and Saved by the Bell. Aka my favorite TV shows still today.

Image

PB & J, Potato Chips, and Dunkaroos. Ate it for lunch in kindergarten and will probably eat it for lunch tomorrow too.

Image

S’mores. No further explanation needed.

Going to bed at 9 o’clock. So that either makes me a child or a grandma. Either way, I’m cool with it.

I’m sure I’ve inspired you, so go ahead and turn on the Little League World Series and enjoy every second of it. #PlayBall

Image

Leave a Reply

